Catch Some Wide Eye

Barrel of Dreams


i hold my sorrow in the cup of my hand
like a newborn torn away too soon, it feebly rests
and i stoop to the edge of myself to drink deeply
the font that flows in colors and ebbs in polyphonies
i share this sadness with the whole world
the world looks at me and turns away

i reach out to my echo thoughts
straining for my barrel of dreams
but the body is too weak to touch these things
it searches the whole world and can never find them
my beauty, my love, my soul, my hope
i share this sadness with the whole world
the world looks at me and turns away

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Barrel of Dreams

  1. Really good I enjoyed the read! Poetry is all new to me,but since meeting Jingle I’m giving it a try,maybe I’l get it by and by ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. WOW..i really love it…wish i could write like you.
    I am also in Jingle’s Poet’s Thursday Rally although,
    I am not a poet, not even near being one,
    Hope you will come visit my blog and spread your love.

    hugs,
    shakira

  3. Hi!

    I found you through Jingle’s blog. I like your poem. I love the imagery of holding your sorrow in the cup of your hand, and I imagined you drinking from it. I also love the last two lines of both stanzas. I could feel your sadness.

    Have a nice day.

    Katherine
    (http://littlepeices2009.wordpress.com)

  4. How sad..
    Then this last line emphasisโ€™s the sadness.
    “the world looks at me and turns away”

    Gerardine Baugh
    http://gerardinebaugh.wordpress.com/

  5. wow. Im speechless. I love dark poetry… well any poetry really ๐Ÿ˜‰ but this piece was deep and beautiful.

    Thank you for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. sparrowsong on said:

    Wow. I’m touched and deeply grateful for all of your comments. Thanks, everyone. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

