Catch Some Wide Eye

How to Explain Violence to a Dead Seedling


little one, i will take you into my hand
i will pat your head and tell you it’s alright
the world and its swords won’t sting you here
here in my arms you are safe tonight

the earth, it shakes
volcanoes rumble
oceans foam
humans explode

here in my arms you are safe tonight
the world and its swords won’t sting you here
i will pat your head and tell you it’s alright
little one, i will take you into my hand

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “How to Explain Violence to a Dead Seedling

  1. adarkstormynight on said:

    lovely poem, i enjoyed this, and in my head heard it being sung, like a lullaby to a child cradled in ones arms, it seems like a lovely song to me.
    I love how the last stanza is the first one inversed, I didn’t realise the first time i read it i thought oh it’s a repetition, and then on second reading I saw. I think it works really well.

Leave a Reply

