Catch Some Wide Eye


I’ve been working on the first movement of Mozart Sonata XV K. 300 for a few days. It’s a pretty good sight-reader, but I’ve also forced myself to pay attention to rhythms. Fingerings are biting my butt, but parts of it sound like actual music. I think I’ve practiced it a couple of hours at a time. It’s nice to have that free-flow focus on a piano piece again. It’s been a while.

I’ve also dusted off the old modes to use as warm-ups. I’m going to list them here for myself in case I ever forget them again [which is likely].

Ionian: Major scale
Dorian: Minor scale w/ #6
Phrygian: Minor scale w/ b2
Lydian: Major scale w/ #4
Mixo-Lydian: Major scale w/ b7
Aeolian: minor scale [natural]
Locrian: everything b but 1 & 4

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “

  1. i envy you for you can play on that great machine of wood, strings and feelings.
    i must learn it one day..

  2. sparrowsong on said:

    it takes a great deal of work, patience and time. it is like a relationship.

  3. I was delighted to read your Paulo poem, lovely characterization, and to read that you play piano. I have one in dire need of tuning and use. If I can get my cleaning mojo going, I’ll have the tuner over and then tickle the ivories until it needs tuning again–which probably won’t be long. Thanks for sharing your posts. I’ve enjoyed the visit here.

Leave a Reply

