Catch Some Wide Eye

Racism in a Bottle


For the record, I’m 100% Puerto Rican but am often mistaken for a “white” person. This aggravates me to no end, but at least I didn’t get stopped at the airport for looking “Arabic” like my uncle did. Right?

Wrong.

Remember your culture but erase the race. Everyone in my family is a completely different skin tone. Diversity is normal. The sooner we embrace that, the sooner we’ll be rid of the tragedies like the one that befell Trayvon Martin.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Racism in a Bottle

  1. Alethea Eason on said:

    People used to think I was Mexican when I was a kid, and my half sister as black. We’re English/Irish/Scottish as far as I know.

  2. Best I’ve ever heard it put: “Remember your culture but erase the race.” 🙂

  3. I think people need to understand that racism is still just as previlent today as it was 50 years ago, only now it’s just more subtle.

    I nice piece on your experiences with subtle racism. ‘Remember your culture but erase the race.’ <- Great line, that sums up a lot of issues in today's society 🙂

Leave a Reply

